OWI Penalties in Wisconsin
Facing Charges? Contact a Milwaukee OWI Attorney Today
In the state of Wisconsin, a charge of
operating while intoxicated (OWI) is a serious offense that can possibly carry stiff consequences. These
charges can potentially expose a person to the possibility If you should
ever be accused of a drunk driving charge, it is crucial that you retain
the services of a top-notch Milwaukee OWI lawyer from the Law Offices
of Christopher J. Cherella.
criminal defense attorneys have successfully defended thousands of people against various
charges, and we are fully prepared to use our expertise to defend your
rights in a court of law. With more than 20 years of trial-tested legal
experience, our attorneys are ready to challenge the opposition’s
accusations and make every effort to secure a desirable outcome on your behalf.
Get a former prosecutor on your side – call (414) 882-8382 today!
What Penalties Do I Face?
A first offense OWI, while serious, is often not a criminal violation.
This is considered to be a “civil forfeiture offense” rather
than a criminal charge. The penalties associated with first offenses are
mainly geared towards educating a driver and encouraging them to change
their habits. A first time OWI can be charged as a criminal offense, however,
if a passenger under the age of 16 is in the car at the time of arrest.
If convicted, penalties may include:
- Up to a $300 fine
- An OWI surcharge of $365
- Driver’s license suspension up to nine months
- An assessment of alcohol/drug use
Multiple OWI offenses, on the other hand, are treated much with much harsher
punishments. All subsequent offenses carry mandatory minimum sentences
that must be served upon conviction, including jail time, fines, and license
suspensions. These penalties will vary depending on the circumsntances.
For a repeat OWI, penalties can include:
- Fines up to $10,000
- Up to six years in jail
- License suspension up to three years
- Mandatory ignition interlock device installation
It is also important to note that Wisconsin has an “implied consent”
law in regards to breath, blood, and urine tests. By holding a driver’s
license in the state, you are in essence already consenting to submit
to a chemical test. Refusal to comply can bring additional, automatic
license suspension. Suspension lengths are based on how many refusals
you have. Certain first offenders may be eligible to apply for an occupational
license that will allow them to work or school. Consulting with an attorney
is the best way to determine eligibility for a provisional license.
Retain a Hard-Hitting Defense Today!
At the Law Offices of Christopher J. Cherella, our Milwaukee OWI attorneys
truly believe that everyone is innocent until proven guilty. We understand
the gravity of your situation, and we are committed to doing everything
we can to protect your freedom. With a compassionate approach to your
case and a custom-tailored defense to your situation, our experienced
legal professionals are ready to go the distance on your behalf.