Underage OWI Defense Lawyer in Milwaukee
Facing Charges? Call (414) 882-8382
In the state of Wisconsin, underage drivers need only a 0.01% blood alcohol
concentration (BAC) in order to be charged with
operating while intoxicated (OWI). An OWI charge is an extremely serious offense and can cause lasting damage
to a person’s future. If your minor child has been charged with
OWI, it is urgent you contact a trial-tested Milwaukee OWI attorney from
the Law Offices of Christopher J. Cherella as soon as possible to protect
With more than 20 years of dedicated
criminal defense experience, our firm has defended thousands of clients against a variety
of criminal charges and can maximize your chances of securing a desirable
outcome for your child’s situation. With aggressive advocacy and
compassionate communication available 24/7, we can provide the unmatched
support you need to help you get through this difficult time as smoothly
free case evaluations to all who approach us for help. Request yours today!
Penalties for Underage OWI
According to the Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility, underage
drunk drivers account for 12% of DUI fatalities in the state of Wisconsin.
As a result of this high proportion, Wisconsin is a zero-tolerance state
and can arrest a minor for OWI if they register a BAC of anything higher
than 0.00%. An OWI charge can also result from driving while impaired
by illicit or prescription drugs. While a
first-time OWI in Wisconsin is not a criminal offense, an OWI citation can have serious
long-term consequences and greatly impact a person’s employment
and housing prospects.
A first-time underage OWI charge can bring the following immediate consequences:
- Driver’s license suspension up to 9 months
- Fines up to $300
- Mandatory alcohol treatment
- Dramatically raised insurance rates
These penalties can increase dramatically depending on a minor’s
prior offenses and whether or not anyone was injured. If charged and tried
as an adult for a second OWI offense, a minor may face up to a year in
jail, up to $1,000 in fines, and an 18 month driver’s license suspension.
Since an underage OWI charge is often paired with a number of other charges
such as minor in possession of alcohol, distributing alcohol to other
minors, and possession of false identification, these scenarios can snowball
in a heartbeat.
Get a Former Prosecutor on Your Side
At the Law Offices of Christopher J. Cherella, our Milwaukee underage OWI
lawyers understand that young people can find themselves in difficult
situations and are prepared to do everything within our power to protect
your child’s wellbeing. As a former prosecutor, our founding attorney
Christopher J. Cherella knows how the opposition works and can use his invaluable knowledge to
your child’s advantage. Your child’s future is far too precious
to leave up to chance – make sure it is in the right hands!
Contact us online today to review your legal options with a skilled professional from our firm.