In the state of Wisconsin, it is a felony offense to not register as a sex offender if you are criminally convicted of and required to register. If you do not register, you will be facing substantial penalties, including prison time and a substantial fine. Someone who is convicted of a sex crime is already facing very serious consequences and scrutiny from the law, but this will greatly increase their loss of freedom and the repercussions they face.
Implications of Failure to Register
For a first strike of failing to register after being convicted of a sex crime or otherwise being told to by the court, you could be fined up to $10,000 and face a 9 month imprisonment. Any subsequent offense will be classified as a Class H felony. Either the district attorney or the Wisconsin Department of Justice will preside over your case if you are found guilty. You, therefore, will need a Milwaukee sex crime attorney who has experience handling this type of case.
What the Wisconsin Law Says About Sex Offender Registration
In the state of Wisconsin, individuals who are convicted of sex crimes are required to comply by registering as sex offenders. The court is also able to require a convicted person to register as a sex offender if he or she is convicted of certain other offenses that the court deems sexually motivated. In other words, sex offender registration is mandatory for some crimes but can also be based on the discretion of the court for others.There are very stringent requirements for reporting if you are required to do so, and it is essential that you take that action quickly to ensure that you do not face further consequences. If you are accused of failing to register, prosecution must prove that you knowingly did so. Without a knowledgeable and experienced criminal defense lawyer assisting with your case, your life can be further damaged. Contact the Law Offices of Christopher J. Cherella today to speak with our Milwaukee criminal defense attorney!