Skip to Content

Wisconsin Driving Points System

Fewer Points, More Freedom

In many situations, more points are a good thing. When it comes to driving points, however, more points could cost you your driving privileges. Without driving privileges, you may have trouble commuting to and from work, school and just about anywhere, unless you use public transportation or ridesharing. As a result, you may lose your job, fail classes, sever relationships, and lose confidence in yourself because you have to depend on other people to take you places.

Thus, it’s important to recognize how the Wisconsin Point System works so you can better avoid these devastating consequences. By being aware of these laws, you can exercise caution when you get behind the wheel and save yourself from the struggles associated with license suspension and revocation.

How It Works

Depending on the severity of your traffic violation, your penalty can include anywhere between 2 and 8 points added to your driving record:

Two points

  • Backing illegally
  • Crossing fire hose
  • Obstructing traffic
  • Transporting a person or vehicle illegally
  • Obstructed view or control
  • Defective speedometer
  • Driving over crosswalk

Three points

  • Driving against traffic on a one-way street
  • Failure to give a signal
  • Failure to obey traffic sign or signal
  • Following too closely
  • Failure to dim lights
  • No or improper lights
  • Operating without a driver’s license
  • Operating with suspended driver’s license
  • Speeding 1-10 miles per hour over the limit

Four points

  • Speeding intermediate (11-19 mph over limit)
  • Use telephone while driving with probationary/instructional permit
  • Texting while driving
  • Deviating from a traffic lane
  • Driving on the wrong side of the highway
  • Failure to stop for a school bus
  • Failure to yield right of way
  • Impudent speed

Six points

  • Attempt to elude an officer
  • Failure to stop after an accident
  • Operating while intoxicated
  • Reckless driving
  • Speeding excess (20 mph or more over limit)
  • Violation of occupational license

The above traffic violations account for some of the various ways you can get points added to your driving record. Thus, you must contact our traffic violation lawyer as soon as you’re aware of your charge. We can fight to reduce or dismiss your driving penalties altogether, so you don’t have to suffer the inconvenience and humiliation of added driving points and/or license suspension.

Arrange your free consultation online or by calling (414) 882-8382!